Easter

This is one holiday that is always insanely chaotic for us. That happens, though, when you have a minister or a church musician in the family! John had a bunch of services to play for, so he wasn’t home until after bedtime on Maundy Thursday and Good Friday. We don’t have an Easter Vigil service (bummer, because I really love that service!), so at least he had Saturday night to relax and get ready for the Sunday morning marathon.

I have to admit that things went way better than I anticipated. I was unsure about the day, because we knew we had to keep Judith in the sacristy during the first service since we didn’t have anyone to watch her and I was busy playing with the trombone quartet. She was surprisingly good, and really didn’t create a ruckus. Thank God for the iPad, because that was a big source of entertainment that kept her calm! She was also super good during the second service (which she sat in the congregation for, with our pastor’s kids and his wife), which was a huge relief. I have Lego to thank for that!

Everyone was basically wiped out for the rest of the day, and early bedtimes happened for all of us. We watched the Peanuts movie, and just relaxed. No fancy dinner, because we decided to save it for this coming Saturday when my in-laws come for a visit. No egg hunt at home, either, because no one had the energy for it. We’ll do a hunt on Saturday so my in-laws can see the entertainment, and it’s not like Judith didn’t get to do any hunts closer to Easter; she went to my mom’s church last Saturday morning to participate in their egg hunt, and she went to one of the community hunts in our town that afternoon.

Overall, it was a really good day, and I’m so pleased at how well Judith held herself together through all of it!

Leave a comment